New Rufus Wainwright Album Announced

Rufus Wainwright hasn’t released a studio album since 2007’s Release the Stars, but according to a news update on his site (via Exclaim), the wait is over this spring. Wainwright has revealed that his sixth full-length studio record, All Days Are Nights: Songs for Lulu, will hit shelves on 4/20 in the U.S., 4/5 in the U.K., and 3/23 in Canada.

Aside from a sneak peek of the album cover (we can now confirm that there will be eyeliner), the other big unveiling so far is the track list. Not only is the title a reference to Shakespeare’s Sonnet 43,” but that is also a song on the album, as well as “Sonnet 20” and “Sonnet 10.” These new tunes were most likely born from Wainwright’s work with Robert Wilson on a joint staging of Shakespeare’s “Sonette” in Berlin last year.

Our “first taste of the album” is coming soon, but in the meantime, check out the full track list here or below:

  1. Who Are You New York?
  2. Sad With What I Have
  3. Martha
  4. Give Me What I Want and Give It To Me Now!
  5. True Loves
  6. Sonnet 43 
  7. Sonnet 20 
  8. Sonnet 10 
  9. The Dream
  10. What Would I Ever Do With A Rose?
  11. Les Feux d’artifice t’appellent
  12. Zebulon