Ray Davies Reveals Kinks Covers Album Tracklist, Feat. Alex Chilton, Metallica, More

For his forthcoming album of collaborative versions of Kinks classics, Ray Davies not only enlisted the likes of Bruce Springsteen, Alex Chilton, Billy Corgan, and other previously reported duet partners, but he flew out to Oslo, Norway, as well, to record “You Really Got Me” with Metallica. Odd pairing, indeed, but not exactly a surprise: Davies first teamed up with Metallica for a live performance in NYC last year, where he pitched the studio collaboration idea to the band backstage.

Also noteworthy is that the 14-track album, See My Friends, features Jackson Browne performing one of Davies’ most beloved songs, “Waterloo Sunset.” Stream very brief snippets here and check out the full tracklist below (via Hipsters United):

Ray Davies – See My Friends (due out 11/1)

01 “Better Things” – Bruce Springsteen
02 “Celluloid Heroes” – Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora
03 “Days/This Time Tomorrow” – Mumford & Sons
04 “Long Way From Home – Lucinda Williams & The 88
05 “You Really Got Me” – Metallica
06 “Lola” – Paloma Faith
07 “Waterloo Sunset” – Jackson Browne
08 “‘Til the End of the Day” – Alex Chilton & The 88
09 “Dead End Street” – Amy Macdonald
10 “See My Friends” – Spoon
11 “This Is Where I Belong” – Black Francis
12 “David Watts” – The 88
13 “Tired of Waiting” – Gary Lightbody
14 “All Day and All of the Night/Destroyer” – Billy Corgan

* All tracks were performed with Ray Davies.