Trent Reznor’s Social Network Soundtrack Arrives Today (Partially for Free)

Update: The EP is available now.

Keep an eye on the following website today, (Friday, 9/17), as Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross will be posting 5 free tracks from their score to the Jesse Eisenberg-starring “Facebook movie,” aka The Social Network, there at some point in the next 24 hours. According to Mashable, the full digital OST (tracklist below) will be sold for only $2.99 on Amazon, as well, with an official release set for September 28. Physical copies can be pre-ordered at other pricing tiers, which will ship out in October.

Reznor’s latest part-freebie, self-release echoes Nine Inch Nails’ notoriously profitable Ghosts I-IV endeavor back in 2008, in which 9 cuts from the 36-track, instrumental recording were given away at no cost while the full album was sold at various pricing tiers that included autographed copies and other appetizing bundles for hungry fans of the T-Rez.

Will this type of music biz model succeed and/or move the industry forward once again? Perhaps. Either way, I’d be remiss in not giving Reznor props for keeping the experiment alive and — as always — the surprise.

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – The Social Network OST

01 Hand Covers Bruise
02 In Motion
03 A Familiar Taste
04 It Catches Up With You
05 Intriguing Possibilities
06 Painted Sun In Abstract
07 3:14 Every Night
08 Pieces Form the Whole*
09 Carbon Prevails
10 Eventually We Find Our Way*
11 Penetration
12 In The Hall of the Mountain King
13 On We March*
14 Magnetic
15 Almost Home
16 Hand Covers Bruise, Reprise
17 Complication with Optimistic Outcome
18 The Gentle Hum of Anxiety*
19 Soft Trees Break the Fall*

*Free EP track.