Sonic Youth ‘Simon Werner’ Soundtrack Details Unveiled

Less than a week after breaking the news about Thurston Moore’s Beck-produced solo LP, now we have details for Sonic Youth’s next release: the soundtrack to French thriller Simon Werner a Disparu, which — as reported in the spring — premiered at Cannes earlier this year. The digital OST will drop on January 25, followed by a physical release in February on a yet-unspecified date, via Midheaven and SY’s own Sonic Youth Recordings label.

An additional 5-track bonus EP comes bundled with director Fabrice Gobert’s film’s DVD release on February 1. Preview the album art above and tracklist (with all French song titles) alongside two intriguing trailers scored by snippets of the band’s foray into murder mystery film scores below:

Simon Werner a Disparu OST

01 – “Thème de Jérémie”
02 – “Alice et Simon”
03 – “Les Anges au piano”
04 – “Chez Yves (Alice et Clara)”
05 – “Jean-Baptiste à la fenêtre”
06 – “Thème de Laetitia”
07 – “Escapades”
08 – “La Cabane au Zodiac”
09 – “Dans les bois / M. Rabier”
10 – “Jean-Baptiste et Laetitia”
11 – “Thème de Simon”
12 – “Au Café”
13 – “Thème d’Alice”

Bonus EP

01 – “M. Rabier (aspect)”
02 – “Jean-Baptiste à la fenêtre (aspect)”
03 – “Alice et Clara (aspect)”
04 – “Thème de Jérémie (aspect)”
05 – “Thème de Simon”