Local Natives, ‘Breakers’

Local Natives Breakers
Photo Credit: Bryan Sheffield

Local Natives return on January 29th with a sophomore LP, Hummingbird, co-produced by the National’s Aaron Dessner. Before the Silver Lake quartet share new tunes live across Europe this winter, they’ve unveiled a first taste from the studio: “Breakers,” complete with the kind of lush harmonies and rousing arrangement that made Gorilla Manor such a promising debut. This time, recording sessions took place in Montreal and at Dessner’s home studio in Brooklyn, where he co-produced Sharon Van Etten’s Tramp LP earlier this year. The result — per today’s preview, at least — picks up on the live feel where they left off while employing the studio a bit more for a moodier sonic backdrop. Stream it above and check out the other song titles below:

Hummingbird Tracklist

01. “You & I”
02. “Heavy Feet”
03. “Ceilings”
04. “Black Spot”
05. “Breakers”
06. “Three Months”
07. “Black Balloons”
08. “Wooly Mammoth”
09. “Mt. Washington”
10. “Colombia”
11. “Bowery”