Frightened Rabbit Detail ‘Pedestrian Verse’

Frightened Rabbit Pedestrian Verse Tracklist“State Hospital” — the title track off this year’s Frightened Rabbit EP, streaming above — not only made the cut for the new LP, but a lyric plucked from the tune inspired the record’s title as well. “Above all though, it was a gauntlet I threw down for myself,” says Scott Hutchison, adding:

If you call your album ‘PEDESTRIAN VERSE,’ you can’t settle for any old lyric. It forced me to better myself. In fact, I think we all stepped up on this album and I believe that our producer Leo Abrahams had a major role in that step. He threw our music into areas we had not previously imagined.

Teaming up with Abrahams is a particularly fitting match for following up the cinematic approach to FR’s State Hospital EP, as the British multi-instrumentalist has collaborated with directors Peter Jackson and Steve McQueen (Hunger, Shame) in the past. What’s more, he’s performed on many Brian Eno-produced records with the likes of Nick Cave, Grace Jones, and on Eno’s own solo work. Frightened Rabbit’s major label debut and fourth record overall arrives on February 5th. Here’s the tracklist:

Pedestrian Verse Tracklist

01. “Acts of Man”
02. “Backyard Skulls”
03. “Holy”
04. “The Woodpile”
05. “Late March, Death March”
06. “December’s Traditions”
07. “Housing (In)”
08. “Dead Now”
09. “State Hospital”
10. “Nitrous Gas”
11. “Housing (Out)”
12. “Oil Slick”